15.02.07 18:42


On February 14, 2007, Gurbanguly Berdymukhammedov, who received 89% of votes in presidential elections, became the second president in Turkmenistan's history.


\"As I assume the post of president of independent and neutral Turkmenistan, I, Gurbanguly Malikgulyyevich Berdymukhammedov, solemnly swear that I will strictly follow the laws and the constitution of Turkmenistan, act as a guarantor of the rights of citizens of the Turkmen state, and mobilize the efforts of the Turkmen people to achieve further prosperity for the independent Turkmen state. I will devote all my efforts and energy to the cause of preserving national accord and the unity of the Turkmen people and their tranquil life, creating every condition necessary for the present and future generations of the Turkmen people to be become modern, well-educated, purposeful, skilled and honest descendants of Oguzhan. I will do my best to ensure the permanent triumph of the policy of Saparmyrat Turkmenbasy the Great and our forefathers based on our imperishable cultural heritage, and to protect wholeheartedly the interests of the Turkmen nation and every citizen of my fatherland.\"


Gurbanguly Malikgulyyevich Berdymukhammedov was born in the village of Barabab of Geoktepe district in 1957. He graduated from the Turkmen State Medical Institute in 1979. He holds a master\'s degree in medical sciences.

He started his work career in 1979. Until 1997, he occupied various posts in the system of the Ministry of healthcare and medical industry of Turkmenistan: teacher; associate professor of preventive dentistry chair; dean of the stomatology department of the Turkmen State Medical Institute; director of the Stomatology Center of the Ministry of healthcare and medical industry of Turkmenistan. In 1997, he was appointed minister of healthcare and medical industry of Turkmenistan, chief executive of the State fund for development of healthcare of Turkmenistan, acting rector of the Turkmen State Medical Institute.

On April 3, 2001, by the decree of the President of Turkmenistan, he was appointed deputy chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers of Turkmenistan.

By resolution of the State Security Council of Turkmenistan and the Cabinet of Ministers of Turkmenistan, he was appointed acting president of Turkmenistan, supreme commander-in-chief of the armed forces of Turkmenistan on December 21, 2006.

He was awarded Orders \"Galkynys\" (\"Revival\"), \"Prezidentin Yyldyzy\" (\"Star of the President\") as well as the Order of the President of Turkmenistan \"Garassyz Turkmenistana bolan beyik soygusi ucin\" (\"For the great love of independent Turkmenistan\"), and Medals \"Watana bolan soygusi ucin\" (\"For the love of Motherland\"), \"Turkmenistanyn Garassyzlygynyn 11 yyllygyna\" (\"the 11th anniversary of independence of Turkmenistan\").

On February 14, 2007, he was elected president of Turkmenistan for a 5-year term.

Printer-friendly version