Economy News Comment of the day Media Digest Public Agenda Politics Regional Review About us

17.09.10 09:19
Heads of five Turkic-speaking countries establish Cooperation Council
Leaders of Turkey, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan decided to establish a joint Council to promote a more effective dialogue between the countries. The decision was made at the 10th Summit of Heads of Turkic-speaking countries held on 16 September. Former Turkish ambassador to Russia Khalil Aknc was elected Secretary-General of the Council of Cooperation of Turkic-speaking countries (CCTC) with headquarters in Istanbul. The Council will include Council of Heads of State, Council of Elders, Council Officials and Permanent Secretariat.

As Turkish President Abdullah Gul noted at the final press conference, the main objective of the new structure is to "to advance business initiatives of our people and their potential." "Relations between our peoples and countries are strong and based on common historical, cultural, religious values and common language," he said.

Speaking at the summit, President of Turkmenistan Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedov invited all brotherly Turkic-speaking countries to closer partnership, noting that Turkmenistan created favorable conditions for business and investments.

 |   |  Print version

Design by Integrum-Techno(WeEn) Copyright©2000-2018 Turkmenistan.ru info@turkmenistan.ru